COUNTY COURT AT LAW NO. OF CHEROKEE COUNTY, TEXAS

NORTHEAST TEXAS CHILD PROTECTION COURT NO. 3

EMERGENCY ORDER EXTENDING CPS CASE DEADLINES
DUE TO COVID-19

Pursuant to the guidelines set forth by the Texas Supreme in its First Emergency Order Regarding
the COVID-19 State of Disaster, the Honorable Janice Stone, Judge Presiding for the County Court
at Law of Cherokee County issues the following Order.

It is ORDERED that:

1. On March 13, 2020, Governor Abbott has declared a state of disaster in all 254 counties
in the State of Texas in response to the imminent threat of the COVID-19 pandemic.

2. Pursuant to Section 22.035(b) of the Texas Government Code, the Supreme Court of
Texas has issued its First Emergency Order Regarding the COVID-19 State of Disaster
which provides that, subject only to constitutional limitations, all courts in Texas may
in any civil case—and must to avoid risk to court staff, parties, attomeys, jurors, and
the public—modify or suspend any and all deadlines and procedures, whether
prescribed by statute, rule, or order, for a stated period ending no later than 30 days
after the Govemnor’s state of disaster has been lifted.

3. Therefore, IT IS ORDERED that the statutory deadlines imposed on cases filed
by the Department of Family and Protective Services under Texas Family Code
Chapters 262 and 263 in Cherokee County shall hereby be modified as follows:
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a. All deadlines for dismissal under Texas Family Code Sections 263.401 and

263.403 that may elapse during this Disaster Declaration, shall be
suspended and modified to a date 30 days after the Governor’s Declaration

of State of Disaster has been lifted, and
b. the statutory deadline under Texas Family Code Chapter 263 related to
the various required review hearings arising during this Disaster

Declaration is modified such that the deadline shall be 30 days after the
Governor’s Declaration of State of Disaster has been lifted.

4. This Order is effective as of March 16, 2020, and expires May 8, 2020, unless extended.

5. The Supreme Court of Texas’s First Emergency Order Regarding the COVID-19 State
of Disaster is attached hereto.

DATE: March 17, 2020

FILED

ALISON DOTSON
Clerk, District Court
Cherokee County, Texas

By user at 3:07:11 PM, 3/18/2020 W_/__

KEITH DOWNS, ASSOCIATE JUDGE
NORTHEAST CHILD PROTECTION COURT #3
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IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 20-9042

IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 20-007

FIRST EMERGENCY ORDER REGARDING
THE COVID-19 STATE OF DISASTER

ORDERED that:

L. Governor Abbott has declared a state of disaster in all 254 counties in the State of
Texas in response to the imminent threat of the COVID-19 pandemic. This order is issued pursuant
to Section 22.0035(b) of the Texas Government Code.

2. Subject only to constitutional limitations, all courts in Texas may in any case, civil
or criminal—and must to avoid risk to court staff, parties, attorneys, jurors, and the public—
without a participant’s consent:

a. Modify or suspend any and all deadlines and procedures, whether
prescribed by statute, rule, or order, for a stated period ending no later than 30 days after
the Governor’s state of disaster has been lifted;

b. Allow or require anyone involved in any hearing, deposition, or other
proceeding of any kind—including but not limited to a party, attorney, witness, or court
reporter, but not including a juror—to participate remotely, such as by teleconferencing,
videoconferencing, or other means;



c. Consider as evidence sworn statements made out of court or sworn
testimony given remotely, out of court, such as by teleconferencing, videoconferencing, or
other means;

d. Conduct proceedings away from the court’s usual location, but in the county
of venue, and only with reasonable notice and access to the participants and the public;

e. Require every participant in a proceeding to alert the court if the participant
has, or knows of another participant who has, COVID-19 or flu-like symptoms, or a fever,
cough or sneezing;

f. Take any other reasonable action to avoid exposing court proceedings to the
threat of COVID-19.

3. All courts in Texas may extend the statute of limitations in any civil case for a stated
period ending no later than 30 days after the Governor’s state of disaster has been lifted.

4. This Order is effective as of March 13, 2020, and expires May 8, 2020, unless
extended by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

5. The Clerk of the Supreme Court is directed to:
a. post a copy of this Order on www.txcourts.gov;
b. file a copy of this Order with the Secretary of State; and
C. send a copy of this Order to the Governor, the Attorney General, and each

member of the Legislature.
6. The State Bar of Texas is directed to take all reasonable steps to notify members of

the Texas bar of this Order.

Dated: March 13, 2020
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